Funded by


Julian Hodge Institute of Applied Macroeconomics

Past EMF forums

Provisional Programme for European Monetary Forum 2020
Funded by LSE & JHIAM.

Friday April  3, 2020
London School of Economics and Political Science, London


EMF draft programme April 3,  2020 LSE

April 3th
Chair: Paul de Grauwe
08:30 Huw Dixon: “State-Dependent or Time-Dependent Pricing? New Evidence from a monthly firm level business survey data, 1980-2017” (with Christian Grimme)
09:20 Stephen Millard: ‘Household debt and labour supply’
10:10 Cofee

Chair: Casper de Vries
10:30 Mike Beenstock: “Integration of macro and spatial equilibrium”
11:20 Oren Sussman: “Market-place lending, information aggregation and liquidity”
12:10Arnab Bhattacharjee: “Network Structures and Heterogeneity in Policy Preferences in the FOMC” (with Mustapha Waseja and Sean Holly)

Chair: Harris Dellas
Matt Canzoneri: TBA 
Patrick Minford: “Testing CGE models of world trade with more or less ‘gravity’ “
Paul de Grauwe: “Behavioural macroeconomics”
Charles Goodhart “Whither monetary policy and regulation?”
17:20 Panel on “Whither monetary policy and regulation?” Mike Wickens (chair); Paul de Grauwe, Patrick Minford, Charles Goodhart
19:30 Conference dinner


Rules of Engagement:
The time allocated for each session includes author's presentation and discussion with participants (there will be no formal discussants) so it is really up to the author to maximise. For guidance authors might think in terms of taking half the time for exposition and the rest in discussion and response. Some may prefer to leave the discussion until they have finished presenting; others (the more normal case) may prefer to have the discussion as they go along.

For the panel panellists should please keep opening remarks brief, to five minutes; then use their right of response to amplify their thoughts as needed.

Participants to date:

Sumru Altug, American Univ Beirut
Michael Arghyrou  Cardiff
Parantap Basu   Durham
Mike Beenstock Hebrew Univ Jerusalem
Arnab Bhattacharjee Heriot Watt
Matt Canzoneri  Georgetown
Martin Ellison Oxford
Michael Evers  Hohenheim
Charles Goodhart  LSE
Paul de Grauwe LSE
Harris Dellas Bern
Casper de Vries Rotterdam
Huw Dixon  Cardiff
Martin Ellison Oxford
Sean Holly   Cambridge
Mai Le  Cardiff
Kul Luintel Cardiff
Kent Matthews   Cardiff
David Meenagh  Cardiff
Stephen Millard Bank of England
Patrick Minford Cardiff
Peter Smith   York
Peter Spencer  York
Oren Sussman  Oxford
Mustapha Waseja Heriot Watt
Mike Wickens Cardiff

Local arrangements:

The meeting will taken place in the London School of Economics and Political Science. 

Past EMF forums

Please address queries about the conference to Patrick Minford (, and queries about the webpage to Zheyi Zhu (